“Dumped” via Text Message and Happy Thoughts for 2014

Happy 2014! I know I’ve been slacking on my updates, but this is seriously one of the most hilarious things that has ever happened to me. This was the text that I received today after I asked if he wanted to borrow Season One of Game of Thrones.

If you read any of the posts I have made in 2013, I went on a blind date before Thanksgiving. I have nothing against him. He is a nice guy, but he didn’t try at all. Honestly, I felt like I was wasting my time even trying to talk to somebody who made zero effort to hang out. I am not heartbroken at all or feeling sorry for myself.

The only other time we hung out was right after Christmas. I personally didn’t even know that we were “dating.” Does that make me a bad person? I hope I didn’t come off as heartless or anything. It’s a completely sincere reply back. I can’t be in the wrong here.

I just find the situation extremely funny, and I don’t know why. He does get to keep a good guy reputation though. There was a point where I thought I was only attracted to the jerks in the world, and I would never get treated the way I deserve to be treated. It proves he isn’t a jackass. I don’t really care whether his apology is sincere.

It would be fantastic to have a new friend that has the same birthday as me. There were no expectations when I went on the blind date and when we hung out the second time. Everything is perfectly okay, and I’ve been talking to other people anyway. A gal can’t wait forever you know. I am over pleasing other people. Too many people have taken advantage of my kindness and generosity. It’s time to let my inner bitch out!

This year is definitely about making me happy. It may sound selfish, but we all need to find out what makes us happy and stick with it. I am extremely excited about this year, and I hope the feeling lasts. The best part is that I am in a process of moving to a new neighborhood, so there’s a lot of adventure out there for me. It’s in a fantastic location, and I am looking forward to meeting a lot of new people.

A lot of wonderful things has happened since I’ve last posted on here. If I am being truthful, I don’t think I feel heartbroken because I think I might really like another person anyway. I don’t want to give a lot of information away, but here’s a quick blurb about him – He is from Spain and is a Post-Doctoral Fellow. A doctor plus a foreign accent is an instant panty dropper!

Don’t judge me for saying that. I swear that I’m not a gold digger or anything. He is a lot older than my usual potentials, but he is one of the nicest people I have met recently and is probably a lot more real than most. The holidays are the worst when you meet someone new, but thank goodness for technology! Even though there’s a pretty big time difference, we talk to each other a lot even though he went back home for the holidays for two weeks. He got sick right after he got to Spain, and when I mentioned being sick he said he’d rather be sick for me. That was really sweet to say. I think that he might actually be good for me because he is a little older and culturally different from most guys I like.

He’s adorable though. I was surprised when he actually messaged me on New Years at midnight in Spain to tell me it’s a message from 2014 to 2013. I am a little excited that he flies back tomorrow, but I don’t know if we’ll have time to hang out. It’s a little sad, and I’ve even mentioned it to him. In a week, he has to fly out to Taiwan next Monday because he was invited to give a talk there and will be gone for another week. I have a ton of things to do because I am moving. My official move-in date is January 10th, so I’ve scrambled all weekend and will be frantic again during the week with packing. He did offer to help me move, but I refuse to let him.

We will definitely see how things work out, but I think I have gone on enough of a tangent. It’s terrible to keep making promises if they can’t be kept. Hopefully, I will be able to get more posts on this blog. If you have any topic suggestions, feel free to leave a comment. I would love to be able to write a bit more opinionated things!

Always,
Diana

Leave a Reply

